There are three levels of local government in Staffordshire (excluding Stoke-on-Trent Unitary Authority)

Here is a summary of the key services and responsibilities for each of the three levels:

Town and Parish Councils

  • Allotments
  • Public clocks
  • Bus shelters
  • Community Centres and Village Halls
  • Play areas and play equipment
  • Grants to help local organisations (e.g. Biddulph in Bloom)
  • Consultation on neighbourhood planning
  • Municipal Burial Grounds
  • Advisory committee’s on local issues (Tourism, Civil, Health, etc.)

District Councils

See Staffordshire Moorlands District Council (SMDC) >>

  • Rubbish collection
  • Recycling (Household Collections)
  • Street Cleaning
  • Environmental Health (Nuisance, dog fouling, etc.)
  • Fly Tipping
  • Council Tax collections
  • Council housing
  • Planning applications
  • Local Plan

County Council

  • Education
  • Transport and Highways
  • Planning
  • Fire and public safety
  • Social care
  • Libraries
  • Waste management and recycling centres
  • Trading standards